Skip to Main Content GCEP Home Page
blank space
Site Search Stanford University blank space
blank space
blank space
Link to News GCEP News News Archive 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2002-2003 GCEP Newsletter
  printer friendly format
Stanford, UC Berkeley and LBNL Scientists Thomas Jaramillo, Ali Javey, Nick Melosh, Delia Milliron Named 2010 MDV Innovators Award Winners

Pioneering Scientists Secure Funding to Pilot High-Impact Research Projects

Menlo Park, CA—December 16, 2009—MDV-Mohr Davidow Ventures, an early stage venture capital firm investing in pioneering science and innovation, today announced that Stanford Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering Nick Melosh and Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering Thomas Jaramillo along with Ali Javey, UC Berkeley Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab (LBNL) scientist, and Delia Milliron, Inorganic Facility Director of the Molecular Foundry at LBNL are recipients of the 2010 MDV Innovators Award.

Created in 2008, the MDV Innovator’s Award recognizes early-career faculty scientists for their ground-breaking research, and provides $50,000 in unrestricted funding to each recipient for a one-year pilot project to explore a promising research direction that might not readily receive other funding because of its high-risk, early approach.

At Stanford, Melosh will investigate a novel approach to solar energy capture while Jaramillo will design improved electrocatalysts. At UC Berkeley, Javey will pursue low-cost manufacturing of novel nanopillar photovoltaics while Milliron will develop new nanocrystal-enabled dynamic window technology.

“MDV has worked with scientists and entrepreneurs to catalyze ideas and technologies for more than 25 years,” said MDV General Partner Erik Straser. “We are passionate about fostering university innovation because we’ve seen time and again how university research creates the core technologies essential to new industries and markets.”

Previous MDV Innovators include UC Berkeley and LBNL faculty Jan Liphardt and Rachel Segalman, as well as Associate Professor Mike McGehee and Assistant Professor Yi Cui, both of Stanford Materials Science and Engineering. Combined, these faculty have raised over $50 million in follow-on research funding since receiving the MDV Innovators Award in 2008.

2008 MDV Innovators Awardee McGehee explained, “It helps to have unrestricted funding like the MDV Innovators Award to start new projects and get the preliminary results that will enable funding from more conventional sources.”

UC Berkeley and Stanford faculty were nominated for the 2010 MDV Innovators Award by UC Berkeley Professors Paul Wright, Director of the Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society, and Berkeley and LBNL’s Paul Alivisatos, Director of Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, and Larry and Diane Bock Professor of Nanotechnology, and Jay Keasling, Director of the Joint BioEnergy Institute; along with Stanford Professors Sally Benson, Director of the Global Climate and Energy Project, and Jeff Koseff, Perry L. McCarty Director of the Woods Institute.

For more information visit MDV-Mohr Davidow Ventures online.



© Copyright 2017-18 Stanford University: Global Climate and Energy Project (GCEP)

Restricted Use of Materials from GCEP Site: User may download materials from GCEP site only for User's own personal, non-commercial use. User may not otherwise copy, reproduce, retransmit, distribute, publish, commercially exploit or otherwise transfer any material without obtaining prior GCEP or author approval.